National Voters’ Day 2024: Unveiling the Date, History, Significance, and This Year’s Theme

National Voters’ Day 2024: Here’s all you need to know about the date, history, significance and theme this year of National Voters’ Day.

The saying “the ballot is mightier than the bullet” aptly underscores the significant role of voters in determining the course of a republic. In the Indian context, the Constitution serves as the bedrock for the basic rights of voters, laying out responsibilities that citizens must consider before and after casting their votes. Voting, beyond being a right, is a civil responsibility a fundamental tool that our nation has employed throughout history to uphold our inalienable rights.


The National Voters’ Day is celebrated every year in India on January 25 to encourage the country’s voters to participate in the electoral process. This year, it is the 14th edition which is being celebrated

History and significance:

On January 25, 2011, the inaugural National Voters’ Day marked an initiative to boost the participation of young voters in the electoral process. The Union government, under Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s leadership, endorsed a proposal from the law ministry to establish this significant day. During this period, Ambika Soni, the former information and broadcasting minister, highlighted a concerning trend wherein newly eligible voters at the age of 18 displayed a diminished enthusiasm for enrolling in the electoral rolls.

To tackle this concern, the Election Commission opted to initiate a countrywide campaign to identify every eligible voter turning 18 on January 1 each year at all polling stations throughout India. These individuals would be registered and provided with the Electoral Photo Identity Card (EPIC) on January 25 annually.


Dedicated to the voters, NVD 2024 theme – ‘Nothing Like Voting, I Vote For sure’ is a continuation from last year’s theme. The President of India Droupadi Murmu will be the Chief Guest at the national function being organised in New Delhi this year by the Election Commission of India and Union Minister of State for Law and Justice (Independent Charge), Arjun Ram Meghwal, will grace the function as Guest of Honour.

The event will also be attended by Heads and representatives of Election Management bodies viz. Maldives, Philippines, Russia, Sri Lanka and Uzbekistan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *